Our Staff

2021-22

Julia Barney,  barneyj@svgs.k12.va.us
Molecular Biology, Scientific Research 
Bachelor of Arts in Molecular Biology with a minor in Biochemistry, Colorado College
PBTL program, Mary Baldwin University

Vincent Daw,  daw@svgs.k12.va.us
Environmental Chemistry, Engineering I & II
Master of Science Education, Environmental Chemistry, New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology
Bachelor of Engineering Science, Mechanical Engineering, Georgia Tech

Andy Flick,  flicka@svgs.k12.va.us
Biomechanics, Scientific Research 
Doctor of Chiropractic, Texas Chiropractic College
Bachelor of Science, Biology, Texas Chiropractic College

Zan Gillies, alexander.gillies@gmail.com
Film Making 
MFA, Film and Media Arts, American University, 2019

Anne Jeffrey, jeffrey@svgs.k12.va.us
Humanities
Masters of Arts, English, James Madison University
Bachelor of Arts, English and French, Mary Baldwin College

Susan Jenny, jenny@svgs.k12.va.us
AP Calculus BC, AP Chemistry
Masters of Chemical Engineering, University of Delaware
Bachelor of Science, Chemistry, Pennsylvania State University

Lindsey Lennon, lennonl@svgs.k12.va.us
Sociology of Mass Media, Sociology of Family, AP Psychology
Doctor of Philosophy, Sociology, Florida State University
Masters of Science, Sociology, Florida State University
Bachelor of Science, Sociology, James Madison University

Chris Martin, martin@svgs.k12.va.us
Physics
Master of Education, Science Education, Virginia Tech
Bachelor of Science, Physics, Virginia Tech

Cassy Maxton-Whitacre, maxton@svgs.k12.va.us
Theater 
Bachelor of Fine Arts, Theatre, Miami of Ohio

Jo-el Nelson, nelson@svgs.k12.va.us
AP Environmental Science, Geospatial Information System
Master of Arts, Science Education, East Carolina University
Bachelor of Science, Marine Biology, UNC- Wilmington

Erik Nylander, nylandere@svgs.k12.va.us
Calculus
Masters of Science, Data Analytics, CUNY School of Professional Studies
Master of Arts in Education, Curriculum and Instruction, Virginia Tech
Bachelor of Science, Mathematics, Virginia Tech

Bess Trainum, trainumew@svgs.k12.va.us

Calculus and Pre-Calculus
Graduate work in Mathematics, James Madison University and Radford University
Master of Arts in Teaching, James Madison University
Bachelor of Arts, International Studies, Miami University

Anthony Tyler, tylera@svgs.k12.va.us
AP Statistics, Pre-Calculus
Masters of Science, Mathematics, South Dakota State University
Bachelor of Science, Mathematics, Liberty University

Aiwu “Alf” Zhu, zhu@svgs.k12.va.us
Modern Physics, Scientific Research, Advanced Calculus
Doctor of Philosophy, Physics, Chinese Academy of Science
Bachelor of Science, Physics, Tsinghua University

Paul Hildebrand, hildebrandp@svgs.k12.va.us
Communications, Humanities of Western Culture
Master of Fine Arts, Theatre Arts, Catholic University of America
Bachelor of Arts, Government, College of William & Mary

Jen Jones, jonesj@svgs.k12.va.us
Studio Art
Bachelor of Fine Arts, Studio Arts, Western Carolina University
Bachelor of Science, Communications, West Virginia University

Amy Wratchford, awratchf@staunton.k12.va.us
Theater
Masters of Fine Arts – Performing Arts Management, Brooklyn College
Bachelor of Fine Arts – Acting, Political Science, New York University, Tisch School of Arts

John York, yorkj@svgs.k12.va.us
Cyber Security, Software Operations
Masters of Science, Electrical Engineering, University of Illinois
Bachelor of Science, Electrical Engineering, University of Illinois

Lee Ann Whitesell, whitesell@svgs.k12.va.us
Director of the Shenandoah Valley Center for Advanced Learning
Doctor of Education – Curriculum & Instruction, University of Virginia
Certification – Administration & Supervision K-12, Shenandoah University
Master of Education, Counseling Psychology, James Madison University
Bachelor of Science, Mathematics, James Madison University

Brent Hull, hullb@svgs.k12.va.us
Coordinator Shenandoah Valley Governor’s School
Master of Science in Education-Educational Leadership, Arkansas State University
Bachelor of Science, Biology, Bridgewater College

Shannon Brown, browns@svgs.k12.va.us
Student Experience Coordinator/Counselor Shenandoah Valley Governor’s School
Master of Science in Counselor Education, Winona State University
Bachelor of Science in Home Economics, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities

Debbie Conner, conner@svgs.k12.va.us
SVGS Administrative Assistant

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.